Zucchini Nut Bread

So time for a little admission…I have never tasted a zucchini bread before. But when my mom hands me a zucchini and says “I thought you could make something for your blog with this,” there isn’t anything else that seems quite as appropriate. When looking for recipes, I was first tempted by the Best Zucchini Bread Ever, and it did look amazing, but having to get yogurt and buttermilk… I just wasn’t feeling the extra ingredients. And then I found this recipe, and thought “I don’t like walnuts in my baked goods, but what if…” and that little thought was the first of my modifications :)

The recipe below is exactly as I made mine. Next time I think I’ll increase the zucchini by half a cup or so.

Ingredients:

3 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp cinnamon
3 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/4 cups white sugar
3 tsp vanilla
2 cups grated zucchini – do not drain!
1 cup chopped pecans

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 325F and grease and flour 2 standard loaf pans.

Beat eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla. Carefully add dry ingredients (I hate using the extra bowl to mix the dry together first, so I like to just add the smaller measurements straight to the liquids, mix a bit, then start adding the flour).

Stir in zucchini and nuts, divide between 2 pans, and bake 45-60 minutes. Mine took the full 60 minutes. For more even baking rotate pans partway through bake time.

About KitchenAlchemist

I'm a physicist with my master's degree, but fascinated by my kitchen. I realized I had become known among my friends for baking after I received two aprons for Christmas and a set of measuring spoons for graduation. My plan was to use this blog to track all my recipes - everything I made - while job searching after graduation. While I'm now happily settled into a full time job, I still love baking (when I have time...) and find this is still the most useful place to store my recipes. Well, this blog and a small handwritten notebook.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other subscribers